Monster Storytime

Today was my Monster Story Time; a story time that was almost without a craft thanks to someone who got into the story time room over the weekend and decided that they were gonna mess with stuff.

However, I had extras and the craft wasn’t difficult; so minor crisis was averted… leaving a seriously miffed librarian in its wake.

In any case, Monster Story Time went on…

Around this time of year, I always like to do something ‘Halloween’ themed, without being actually Halloween; since there are sooo many in this area that want nothing to do with anything even remotely related to the holiday. The joys of living in the bible belt.

So I’ve done ‘Scary Story Time’, ‘Ghosts’, ‘Pumpkins’, and now ‘Monsters’…and I’m thinking I prefer the Monsters theme. We have some really cute Monster books.

This time I used Monsters Don’t Eat Broccoli by Barbara Jean Hicks, Fright Club by Ethan Long, and Bedtime at the Swamp by Kristyn Crow
image

During my afternoon session, I decided to switch out Fright Club with Mind Your Monster by Catherine Bailey.

All were really cute books, but the younger kids seemed to get a bit twitchy during Fright Club.

For our game we did a Monster Match, a repurposed activity from one of my first monster themed story times.

image

The concept was pretty simple, I had the top half of the Monsters on my board and handed out the bottom halfs. I told the kids, ‘Oh no, these poor monsters lost their feet!!! On your turn, help these poor monsters find their feet by matching the tops to the bottoms!’

They got a few giggles out of that from both the kids and the adults.

As for our craft and the debacle that preceeded our program… we made ‘Monster Spider Rings’… which are multicolored, fuzzy creatures with a weird number of eyes that may or may not be too big for their heads.

image

Which, I’ve come to find, kids don’t mind in the slightest that their critters are weird colors. We had spiders with two eyes, some with three, we even had a spider that had a giant eye on his back end.

They had fun making them and that’s all that matters. Who cares if they don’t look like my sample black spider; personally I think I prefer the neon colored ones. My two examples now have homes on my desk computer; keeping me company as I work.

For instructions on how to make the ‘Not-So-Spooky Spider Rings’, click here and visit Sturdy for Common Things (where I got the wonderfully clever idea).

I’ll have another Story Time next week… I haven’t decide what my theme will be yet. Leaves? Bats? Decisions , decisions…

1 Comment

Filed under Storytime

One response to “Monster Storytime

  1. I love the multi-colored spidey friends! They look terrific! I’m with you… Who cares if they they have eyes on their bums. It’s all about the process. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

