Things that Leap

So this week, since it was a Leap Year, I did a ‘Things that Leap’ themed storytime that included everything from jumping and leaping, to bouncing.

To start off with I read Cat Jumped In by Tess Weaver.

image

Sadly, none of the kids in my morning session had any cats, so while they thought Cats antics were funny they couldn’t really appreciate them.  The afternoon session however, had many kids laughing going ‘my cat does that!’.

The second book was The Fabulous Bouncing Chowder by Peter Brown.

image

I actually had one of my morning kids ask me ‘why’ Chowder didn’t fit in with the rest of the pooches; he was a dog wasn’t he? Thankfully that child had no apparent concept of  why someone might not be nice to another simply because they looked different. Kudos to that parent right there. 

Next came our game, which this time, was a Animal Dice game.

image

image

image

I had ten (10) Leaping Animal pictures on my wall, a paper 10-sided die, and a score card.  Each kid got to take a turn and roll the dice, then they had to match the number with the animal, and I would write down the animal. When everyone had a turn, or two, or three, we counted how many times an animal got picked. Whichever one had the most rolls ‘won’.

The kiddos really seemed to get into it once they got the concept. Especially in my afternoon session where we had a 3 way tie.

An easy Google search will provide you with a dozen different templates for the 10-sided die. Personally, I thought they were all dull and boring with no color. So I made one WITH some color.

image

After the game, we read our last book; No Jumping on the Bed by Tedd Arnold.

image

There was lots of commentary on this as Walter went crashing through the floor.  All in all, both kids and parents seemed to really enjoy the three stories.

For our craft we made Frog masks.

image

The craft was easy enough, a frog face, craft stick, party blower, google eyes and glue dots. I know, mine doesn’t have google eyes, I hadn’t gotten eyes big enough yet, so I just drew my froggy eyes.

I also couldn’t find a decent frog mask that didn’t have to pay for, or was just not what I was looking for…. So, I created my own.

image

If anyone would like to use it, by all means, go ahead. The blue shaded areas are mean to be cut out as those are the eyes holes and the mouth where the blower will go.

Making this was simple. I cut out the frog mask on card stock and removed the eyes and mouth part. I put glue dots on the craft stick and the google eyes so all the kids had to do was peel the backs off like a sticker and place them on the mask. The craft stick goes on the back, under the mouth, the eyes go on top in the big circles.

image

After they get those on,  I let them color their froggies. While they colored, I had a video to show them on YouTube.

I had found a full length episode of The Most Extreme: Jumpers.  Which I had ready to go, preloaded on a laptop.

Once they were done coloring they put the party blowers in the circle for the mouth and we taped it in place. WARNING: You really want to tape those suckers, otherwise when the kiddos blow on the party blower, it’ll go shooting across the room. Trust me on this one….can’t tell you how many times that happened. LOL.

image

image

And as always, I tried to have a cart of books for them to look over and check out if they wanted.

image

All in all the kids really enjoyed it. Even if I did have one little boy who was far more interested in my snake Keychain then in what I was reading. But we got to have a fun conversation about rattlesnakes and what had happened to this particular snake. It also reminded me that it was about that time of year that I needed to pull out the ‘Snake’ storytime and revamp it.  There was a whole group of new kids that had come in that morning; home schoolers who had never been to storytime before.

With how unseasonably warm it’s been here lately, I’m having to pull that storytime out earlier then I had initially planned. Now I have to decide if I wanna do ‘Dragons’ for St. Patrick’s Day, or do ‘Snakes’.  Decisions, decisions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

