Silly Storytime

Silly Storytime, honestly, I’m amazed that I haven’t posted this already. I could have sworn I had.

Oh well.

I started Silly Storytime last year around this time, I believe. I wanted to do something fun and goofy for April Fool’s Day, which while not actually ON my storytime day, it is at the end of the week.

So I found some fun, silly books that were either plain ol’ goofy, or had endings that were surprising.

My first book was That is Not a Good Idea by Mo Willems.

image

Which is great fun….if a wee-bit morbid. Throughout the entire book you go through believing that this fox is luring this poor naive duck (goose?) to her death. All the while the cute yellow chicks, who are watching this unfold, keep reiterating how bad of an idea that is. I won’t spoil the end for you, but it certainly surprised me the first time I read it. The looks of surprise on the kids faces when the end came was great.

The next book, and a personal favorite ever since I was a kid, is Sesame Street’s The Monster at the End of This Book

image

Which is just a fun book featuring Grover.  The cute, lovable blue character is terrified of the monster at the end of the book and tries everything he can think of to prevent the reader from turning pages. The ‘monster’ at the end of the book isn’t as bad a Grover thinks it will be and the kids really seemed to enjoy his antics throughout the book.

For the game portion of my storytime, I actually chose to read another book and turn it into a ‘game’.  Guess Again  by Mac Barnett is a quirky book where the reader is given a picture with a missing, silhouetted spot. On the page beside it, is a poem describing the individual/thing missing from the picture and the reader is supposed to guess what it is.

image

 

image

Sure sounds like the description of a bunny, right? GUESS AGAIN! Lol. I read the description and let all the kids make guesses on what they thought it was. Then I’d finally read them the answer….they never got it right. Though a few, got close.

They enjoyed it despite never being able to guess the right answer. There were quite a few giggles at the ridiculousness of the whole thing.

The final book, was a tried and true hit The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak.

image

Kids LOVE this book for all the silly sounds the adult has to read. I ended up reading it twice for my morning group. If you haven’t read this book…Go now. You NEED to read it. It’s so much fun. My kid loves it and so far it’s always a hit with the storytime kids.

For the craft we did Silly Mustaches. I did a Google search for mustache templates and found an assortment to choose from. Some were found here, while others were chosen from here.

image

image

The kids were then allowed to decorate the mustaches however they liked. I had crayons and even various sized pompoms for them to choose from.

image

Now last year, when I did this theme, I created a Silly Animal Mash-Up game for the kids to play.  I found several ‘mashed-up’ animal pictures on Google and then had the children try and figure out what animals made up the mashed-up animal.

image

image

It went over pretty well, if I remember right.  The children got a kick out of the silly animal combinations.

I also had a bunch of books set on a cart that had Silly or Surprising themes to them.

With April coming up and Spring more or less here; I suppose it’s time to bring out my Snake Storytime. This year, since there seemed to be so little interest in the snake picture books compare to the nonfiction books; I may just do a Nonfiction Storytime about Snakes. Haven’t decided yet….

Until next time folks…. Thanks for reading!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

