Nautical Storytime

 

I was browsing around Pop Goes the Page, a library blog that I follow, looking for inspiration when I found their Nautical Flag Necklace blog and realized…. that would make an AWESOME craft for kids. Not only had I not known that there were flags that symbolized letters and numbers (as well as a bunch of other things) that ships used; but the idea of turning that into a craft just tickled me.

And as usual for me, once I find a craft I like, I create a storytime around said craft….thus Nautical Storytime was born.

Now, sadly, no one showed up to our Storytime at the Mall program… which, honestly, wasn’t that surprising really, since it was Columbus Day, they probably didn’t think we were doing anything….or even open.

But we had kiddos show up to the regular storytime so no worries!

My first book was Pig Kahuna by Jennifer Sattler:

This was a cute book about a little piggie who was just not having a great day and was grumpy, then that grumpiness paid off by giving him the perfect grumpy pirate growl.

The next book was a Nonfiction book called Big Boats by Catherine Ipcizade:

And gave simple discriptions and pictures of Big, Bigger and Biggest boats.

After that, we did a Find the Anchor game.

I did a simply google search for different boats coloring sheets and just picked four that I liked. I printed them on different color paper and found picture an anchor. I woukd hide the anchor under a boat and each kid would get a turn to come up and check under a boat to see if the anchor was there.

The third book was one the younger kids loved called Row, Row, Row You Boat by Jane Cabrera:

This cute little book followed along with the song, then talked about ‘what to do’ if you see certain animals, and *insert animal sound here* lol. the kids, of course, LOVED making lion roars

Now came the craft, our Nautical Necklaces.

This took a bit of prep.

I enlarged the flags a bit then cut multiples of each.

Then I quartered a glue dot…. I know, quartered???? Yes, you dont need a lot, its small after all.

Now, all the kid has to do is peel off the back like a sticker and fold. I recommend folding AROUND the necklace cord. Folding first and attempting to get the cord through is a pain in the @$$.

I also used plastic string and set out some beads for the kiddos to use on their necklaces.

I think they liked the bead part better than the flag part, but oh well.

I also provided a cart of books on boats, pirates, the Titanic, etc. etc.

I think I might have gotten a little carried away, lol.

Well thats all for now. Got 2 weeks of vacation calling my name. Ciao!

Leave a comment

Filed under Storytime

Leave a Reply

